Feature & Follow Friday #26


Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read

Q: Define what characteristics your favorite books share. Do they all have a kick ass heroine or is the hot love interest the Alpha Male?

This is a tough one for me to answer, because I read across so many genres- from fantasy to mystery to memoir and young adult. I think the theme through any story that I find of most importance are the characters. I have a curiosity about people and understanding their thoughts, motives and desires. I often comment on whether i felt a connection with the character when i write a book review, because this is so important to me. The character doesn’t necessarily have to be likeable and i don’t necessarily have to agree with their decisions BUT if the author does a good job at creating characters that are real and with depth- then this makes a great story!

* * *

This week @ The Australian Bookshelf

Genre Dilemma: What genre is my novel? (@ my author page)

Aussie Book Review: Abandoned Women: Scottish Women Exiled Beyond the Seas by Lucy Frost

Book Review: Advent by James Treadwell

Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

What was In My Mailbox this week?

Indie Author Corner: Meet Kenya Wright + giveaway of Fire Baptized (international)

Attention Indie Authors! Want to feature your book on my blog?

Looking for 2012 reading challenges? Check out these:

Please feel free to leave a comment with a link to your blog.  If you click the facebook and twitter links to follow me, I will follow you back!

7 Comments

Filed under Friday blog hop

7 responses to “Feature & Follow Friday #26

  1. Stupid me, hadn’t thought of characters! I went for storyline and description. I’m a new Twitter follower. Hop on over if you have the time: http://universeinwords.blogspot.com/2012/02/february-friday.html
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. Great answer. I completely agree with you that the character has to have a depth and relatable in some way. Awesome answer. Followed you through your Twitter. =]
    Here is My Follow Friday

  3. I like to make a connection too! Great answers. Happy Friday :)
    My Friday hops

  4. Hi! I’m a new follower via Follow Friday via email! I agree with you! The characters have to be relatable to me!

    http://eileenlisblog.blogspot.com/2012/02/follow-friday-13.html

  5. Lu

    I agree! A character with dept definitely helps. And if you can form a connection with a character it’s even better!

    The Muggle
    -If you have a moment please nominate your favorite cover here.

  6. Claire

    Hello! I am a new follower!! Found you via the blog hop! Can’t wait to read your posts!

    Claire
    http://clairelouisereads.blogspot.com.au/

Leave a Reply

